Late CSA Tuesday

This week hasn’t been the easiest on me.  I went to the doctor’s on Friday and got some bad news, so I have switched my medications accordingly.  And the new meds… yeah they really don’t seem to agree with me.  I am hoping it is just and adjustment period and I will be back to my old self soon.  In addition, I have been put on yet another diet as if gluten free wasn’t hard enough all on it’s own.  So you will be seeing more healthy versions of recipes, not that they are all that bad to begin with.

Seriously, I am the healthiest eater I know.  I don’t go out to eat.  I don’t eat fast food.  I don’t eat processed food.  Yet, I have astronomical LDL-p and triglyceride levels.  So high, in fact, that my doctor has seen less than 5 cases in his career that were as high as mine, and I am the youngest person he’s seen with these levels.  Everyone else has me beat by 10+ years.  (For the record, I am not obese either.)  Can you tell I am frustrated?  Cuz I am!!  Okay…. rant over.

Now to the good stuff.

CSA Tuesday

I realize this is a little late, but the above situation kinda has me down in the dumps, and sometimes nauseated and extremely tired.  This week we had a slow week.  Our weekly email from Grow Youngstown informed us that because of the weather being so wonky lately, the variety was not where is usually is for this time of year.  Either way, we were still happy with our bounty.

csawk04

This week we got a bag of kale, a patty pan squash, 2 cucumbers, 7 Hungarian hot peppers, a bag of purple potatoes, 2 HUGE onions, a bag of yellow wax beans, 7 peaches, and a bunch of parsley.

Honestly I am kinda glad our bounty was on the smaller side this week.  I still have veges left over from the previous week, and for the most part, the ones included in this week’s share are the ones I am most likely to use.

Now the patty pan squash and Hungarian peppers may prove a little difficult.  I have never had patty pan squash before, so I am not sure how it tastes, or how to cook it.  I did look up a few recipes, and saw that most people seem to stuff them, so perhaps I will try that.  The Hungarian peppers really have me stumped.  I found one recipe that I may try that also stuffs them, with Italian sausage and a cheese mixture, and grills them, but I am not so sure my kids will like them.  We aren’t real big with the hot stuff.  If all else fails, I know my dad will get some enjoyment out of them.

Anyone have any experience with patty pan squash or Hungarian peppers, and would like to share a recipe?  I am all ears (or eyes *wink wink*)

 

Leave a comment